External script to make ghost shells / stars "copy and rotate"

So, while many in the community are waiting for a proper implementation of Ghost Shells, many Japanese and Chinese people are already making wonders thanks to external file editing.

I found a way to at least make the pattern of a circular shell, and it’s not difficult. But as I am not a programmer, I can only make the basic shape and motion of the pattern. Does anyone know a method or a spreadsheet which can be used to actually copy and rotate these rings/half rings along a sphere in order to create the proper shell? If this is possible, then it becomes easy to make proper ghost shells.

Examples of the patterns I created (very simple ones)

https://x.com/i/status/1800478384470028483

https://x.com/i/status/1800480642284867985

1 Like

how exactly did you make these

1 Like

It’s not difficult, but it takes a bit of time.
Basically, you use the “mine” shape with 1 star. Then, you prepare this star as the initial one (if you want to add tails to simulate the explosion, fake smoke, etc.). The next step is to duplicate the star (ctrl+c and ctrl+v) and, at this point, change the rotation. This depends on how many stars you want for your fireworks. For a detailed one, I used 10-degree increments.
Then, you need to think about the “pattern” or “animation”. In the first video I want to make a very simple pattern with colour shifting in four staggered parts, while in the second video, there is a white flash pattern.
With this in mind, keep duplicating stars until you reach half of a circle.
The next part is… actually making the sphere, but this is the part where I admit my ignorance. Some people in Japan and China use spreadsheets to make this happen, but I have absolutely zero clue about where to find these.

2 Likes

That looks nice. Can you make it in sphere, and how the method is working?

1 Like